EA Maturity – what’s the fuss?

In a recent conversation with prospective client, I was advised that he was brought into the business to establish their Enterprise Architecture practice. I was taken back by this, as the company was a well-established large corporation, the type of business I assumed had an existing functional EA capability. My immediate thought was of how I felt about using their services when travelling next. My ‘fear’ abated when recalling that all organizations have Enterprise Architecture even where this is not defined as a capability. The big question is, how mature this capability is and how, regardless of what it’s called, it has been defined and measured.

We agreed that the right place to start, was to understand the current maturity of the companies ‘EA’ capability. We also agreed the common model used to measure the maturity of an organizations EA is the Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) which defines 5 levels of maturity as:

  • Maturity Level 1 – Initial.
  • Maturity Level 2 – Managed.
  • Maturity Level 3 – Defined.
  • Maturity Level 4 – Quantitatively Managed.
  • Maturity Level 5 – Optimised

Using this model, most organisations target Level 3 as the minimum viable position that can be achieved in a relatively short period of time to deliver business value.

The ATE EA assessment used in many organisations over the past 12 years is aligned to CMMI and helps organisations address challenges around identifying where their EA practice is at while showing how to retain competitive advantage, cut costs and delivery times while improving quality. To find out more on this service please visit our website at https://www.ate.enterprises/ea-assessments/ or e-mail me. I would be happy to discuss your needs.


Direct Line: +44 (0)1400 567205
Mobile: +44 (0)7853 144392
Email: greg@ate-enterprises.com

Recent Posts